Triclosan News!!

28 Mar

Greetings all!

I have been cautious about triclosan for a long time now so you can imagine my surprise when this news article passed in front of my nose yesterday:

Toothpaste additive toxic to environment

The article says that triclosan is toxic to the environment (it gets washed down our drains and into rivers and other bodies of water). Unfortunately they don’t have enough evidence (yet) to say it’s hazardous to human health but I’m sure its just a matter of time. It has been linked to hormone disruption AND as we all should know leads to antibiotic resistance.

I knew that Health Canada was studying it but I wasn’t expecting this news for a while yet! Triclosan is a chemical with antibacterial and antifungal properties. It is found in many of our everyday body care products such as:

  • Hand soaps and sanitizers
  • Deodorants
  • Toothpaste – I checked all the toothpastes in our house and none have triclosan
  • Cleaners
  • Cosmetics (as a preservative)

Just try finding a hand soap at Walmart, Shoppers Drug Mart or the grocery store that doesn’t have triclosan in it. It’s hard!! That is why I took matters into my own hands over a year ago and started making my own hand soap for our kitchens and bathrooms. Here’s how I do it: (or you can read my blog post)

  • Find a foaming hand soap bottle you can reuse
  • Fill it 2/3 full with hot water
  • Add a tbsp of coconut oil and let it melt by shaking it in the bottle
  • Fill the rest of the bottle with any flavour of castille soap. Shake again.
  • Add a few drops of any essential oil for extra aroma! (optional)

So, what’s next? I forsee clever marketing campaigns coming from all the big players trying to sell their new “Triclosan free” deodorants, hand soaps and cleaners. It’s new the BPA!

What so you think?

Until next time,

The OMP

2 Responses to “Triclosan News!!”

  1. babyyums March 29, 2012 at 12:10 am #

    Thank-you for sharing!! It’s crazy how so many people are miss informed and “trust” big name brands for every day use. When low and behold it’s actually scary what we “don’t know” but do know if we read between the lines. Thank-you for opening up my eyes!
    Crystal

  2. Lynn March 29, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    I’ve been reading for a while now that triclosan is bad news. This means I will have to give up my favourite face wash…I’m having some withdrawal problems. I need to get over it!

Leave a Reply

