Guest Post – Thoughts on shaving cream and recycling!

1 Aug

Dear Readers:

It’s August and after one month hiatus, we are BACK! This month I am fortunate to be able to start off with a guest post from my good friend – @RONRANCOURT – owner of the blog “To Sustainability“. You should check him out!!

Without further adieu:

Hey there OMP,

Here’s a little tip on shaving cream, for guys and for gals.  It was just after we moved to Chelsea when I looked down at my can of Gillette shaving cream and decided I wanted an alternative.  Each can only lasted me a month or two, and once it’s done it had to be recycled.  Recycling isn’t as great as it is made out to be – it requires lots of energy, water during processing, and fuel for transport.  (Once sorted, Ottawa’s recycling goes to companies in Ontario, Quebec and the US link: http://ottawa.ca/residents/recycling_garbage/recycling/what_happens_en.html)  Also, a plastic bottle can never be recycled into another plastic bottle.  It’s always downgraded to a cheaper, poorer grade product. So in a sense, recycling is not sustainable.

shavingsoap

Anyway back to shaving cream options.  In addition to the recycling thing I was leery of the ingredients in that canned foam.  I found a wonderful home-made shaving soap in bar format at the Chelsea Market. After using it once or twice I knew I’d never go back to store-bought cans.  My skin actually feels moist and soft after using it.  One bar lasts 6 months or more and only costs 5 bucks!  I would tell you the name of the soap but can’t remember it – but that shouldn’t stop you from trying any home-made soap you come across at your local outdoor market.  Many natural food stores carry them and I’ve even seen some at the checkout at chain grocery stores and pharmacies.  Of course, you can usually find handmade soap at the Chelsea Market, Saturdays from 10-2 from May-Oct. (see http://www.marcheoldchelseamarket.ca)

Now I need to find an alternative to disposable razors…

-Ron

4 Responses to “Guest Post – Thoughts on shaving cream and recycling!”

  1. Kim August 8, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    I wonder if shaving soaps are good for women too ? I may have to try that. Of course waxing is probably more eco-friendly (no plastic razors to throw out) but I don’t always find the time !
    I’ve noticed a few natural food stores sell shaving soap. Maybe I can talk my hubbie into that too. 🙂

    KR

    • ottawamommyproject August 8, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

      Hi KR:

      I think you would have no problem at all with the “men’s” shaving soap. Do you really think there is any difference in mainstream men’s and women’s shaving soaps/gels? Nothing except for color and fragrance (and what is that fragrance anyways??!). I haven’t had much of a chance to look at such products in the natural food stores yet but I plan to at some point. Maybe I can work on this after I get through all natural deodorants!

      I say just go ahead and buy some as a present for your hubbie and leave it in the bathroom!

      Thanks for writing and let me know how things go!

      The OMP

  2. Katherine December 12, 2011 at 4:24 am #

    Nice! I get my shampoo bar at Market Organics!

    • ottawamommyproject December 15, 2011 at 12:10 am #

      Thanks for writing! Which shampoo bar are you using – the white one from Pure Soapworks?

Leave a Reply

