Where does The OMP buy all her stuff?

13 Jun

Since I started this project I have been doing a lot of research about all natural products and discovering new stores online and in Ottawa. I love shopping local and supporting the local economy. I also try and do a lot of my shopping in Bells Corners to support the neighbourhood in which I live.

Up to now, here are my local sources:

Kardish Bulk Food and Nutrition Centre:

They are all over the city but I shop at the one in Bells Corners.  They have a point program. $1 = One point. Once you spend $250 you get $10 to spend in the store. This store carries a nice variety of food, bulk items, cleaning products, supplements and personal care products.  They have good sales, and a cart full of reduced items at the front of the store. I recently got two yummy boxes of organic cereal there for $1.99 (regular $5.99).

Rainbow Natural Foods:

This store is huge and has a massive selection of everything. Every time I go there the store kind of sucks me in for an hour even though I was only going to get one or two things. The staff is extremely knowledgeable. They also have regular events and speakers. On June 16th, I’m going there for the Ladies Soiree from 4-8 pm. They are also on Twitter and always up for some great conversation! (@rainbownatfood) Their website has recipes, specials, product information, and more! I highly recommend a visit.

Granny’s Natural Food Emporium:

This store is inside the Hazeldean Mall in Kanata. They carry a lot of supplements, cleanses, body care products, cleaning products and food. Unfortunately they are not online yet, but are thinking about it. They do have a page on the Hazeldean Mall website. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable here. I drop in every time I go to Hazeldean Mall and see what’s new!

Grocery Stores.

Some carry natural cleaning products and of course this is your source for vinegar, lemons, lemon juice, baking soda, corn starch and other assorted things necessary for making green cleaning and body care products!

My online sources are:

Well.ca:

They carry a HUGE variety of everything – mainstream and all natural products. All natural, vegan and animal friendly are clearly marked. Their prices are fair, and they offer free shipping all the time no matter your order size or cost and this is why I love them. They also have a strong presence on Twitter and Facebook and I love interacting with them.

Grassroots Store:

Awesome resource for all things natural. You can even shop by the ethic of your choice: all natural, biodegradable, animal friendly, organic, fair trade etc. I have ordered from them just once. Delivery was uber fast and everything was as expected. They are also on Twitter and Facebook and are super fun to interact with. I highly recommend this online store. If I ever get to visit Toronto again I will go visit their store.

New Directions Aromatics:

This is where you want to buy your raw materials like butters and essential oils. They also have lovely containers – glass, plastic and acrylic at decent prices. I dare you to visit their site and not want something!

Stores that I plan to visit soon are:

  • The Natural Food Pantry (Kanata)

  • The Arbour Shoppe (Glebe)

  • Mother Hubbards (250 Greenbank Road)

Most natural food stores give out a free copy of Alive Magazine with purchase. Take it!! It is an excellent Canadian magazine full of awesome information and recipes. I read every one from cover to cover and then share with friends.

Am I missing any?

Until next time,

The OMP

5 Responses to “Where does The OMP buy all her stuff?”

  1. Natalie June 24, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    Natural Food Pantry is somewhat pricey. Dr. Bronner’s soap was about $5 more per bottle than the regular price at Kardish’s. Thanks for letting me know about the sale at Kardish’s! I bought 2 bottles for only $4 more than 1 at Natural Food Pantry.

    • ottawamommyproject June 24, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

      Awesome! Glad you were able to get a few bottles of this versatile soap! What flavours did you get?
      Enjoy! And please let me know what wonderful things you make with it!

      Thanks for writing!
      The OMP

  2. Linda - Eko Bear (@EkoBearToys) September 24, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    Eko Bear is an online store with affordable, eco-friendly alternatives to your classic toys and innovative ones too all made with your children and the environment in mind. We offer free local pick-up in Kanata as well as low flat rate shipping, a Refer-A-Friend program and fundraisers. http://www.ekobear.ca

  3. tara avelino March 27, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

    hi! i came across you blog while trying to find a store in ottawa that sells raw materials like butter, oils and wax.. have you encountered a store like that here? somewhat like new directions aromatics.. thanks! hope you can email me!

    • ottawamommyproject May 19, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

      The only store I know of in Ottawa that sells raw materials is Planet Botanix on Bank Street, downtown:
      http://www.planetbotanix.com/store#!__store/diy

      I haven’t been there yet, so I don’t know what their prices are like. I imagine it’s still probably cheaper to order from New Directions. I noticed they have the nice containers for storage!!! 🙂

      I picked up a nice big chunk of beeswax from one of the vendors at the Ottawa Farmers Market in Lansdowne park. They have moved to Brewer Park, I think. I paid about $10 for it and its really good quality!

      All the stores have some raw materials to a certain extent – I’ve seen tubs of cocoa butter at Kardish and Coconut Oil at Grannys in Kanata.

      Hope that helps you a little. Feel free to contact me or the blog if you have any other questions or comments or if you find any good resources around town 🙂
      Thanks!
      The OMP

Leave a Reply

