What has The OMP been up to lately?

16 May

Status

I thought I would write a post and let everyone know where we are with our product testing and what our future plans are. I am still heavily involved in the project by doing a lot of research and reading. Here is a recap of what we’ve done so far:

  • Hand soap – partially homemade from Dr Bronners Castile soap, water and coconut oil
  • Lip Balm – currently using a variety of all natural lip balms made primarily from beeswax
  • Curl/Anti-frizz cream – homemade from flax seed gel
  • Shampoo – our current test product.

Coming soon – do you have any suggestions?

  • Hair conditioner – the last item needed to attain my 100% natural hair regimen.
  • All household cleaners. I may do a complete purge on cleaners and replace with mostly homemade stuff.
  • Dishwasher liquid, powder, or tabs
  • All natural deoderant (there are many to choose from! I was very suprised)
  • Face and body moisturizer
  • Facial scrub (will be homemade)
  • Makeup – I don’t wear much, but I need a few key items.
  • Shaving soap or cream

The future

I have been casually thinking of expanding the project into other areas of our daily lives. We use a lot of plastics, and a lot of disposible things.

  • I may start trying to find more environmentally friendly, simpler ways of living.
  • I am trying to start cooking and baking from scratch more often and freezing.
  • I may also try some challenges such as not buying anything new for a month.

Do you have any ideas for me? If so, I would love to hear them! Please contact me anytime.

Are you following me on Twitter? @ottawamommyproj

Until the next time,

The OMP

5 Responses to “What has The OMP been up to lately?”

  1. Kim May 18, 2011 at 12:57 am #

    I have a few favorites.

    • Hair conditioner – I really like the Green Beaver Cranberry conditioner for my dry natural curls.

    •Face and body moisturizer- Alba oil-free green tea and aloe moisturizer for face is good. The Alba Kukui Nut body oil is nice too.

    •Makeup – I like Ecco Bella foundation with sunscreen and Dr. Hauschka blush.
    I found a Kiss My Face lip gloss that is the exact same color as my Clinique. KMF was $8. Clinique is $18. Healthier and cheaper.

    I definitely have to cook more so my husband will stop buying crap at M&M !

    • ottawamommyproject May 18, 2011 at 2:07 am #

      Often, the healthier option IS cheaper! You just need to shop around and compare prices. Thanks for your comment and product suggestions!!
      The OMP

  2. Elizabeth Doyle July 26, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

    Where do you get your Dr Bronners Castile soap?? I can’t seem to find it anywhere!

    • ottawamommyproject July 26, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

      Hi Elizabeth:

      Thanks for your visit to the blog!
      So far, I have purchased Dr. Bronners at Kardish in Bells Corners, Rainbow Foods on Richmond Road and Granny’s Natural Foods at the Hazeldean Mall. I’m sure all the Kardish locations have it too.

      Hope this helps. Let me know if you have other questions.

      Thanks!
      The OMP

  3. Krista R September 2, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    Cocoon Apothecary – an environmentally conscious home based business in Kitchener ON, is where I purchase my skin care products: http://www.organicskin.ca The products are natural, vegan, not tested on animals and contain no parabens or other nasty things. All producst rate a zero or one on the EWG’s Skin Deep Database http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/

    Producst all come in glass bottles too. I’ve been using their products for about 5 years and highly recommend.

Leave a Reply

