Natural Remedy for Diaper Rash

27 Mar

The other day a friend asked if I knew any natural remedies for diaper rash so I thought that would be a perfect entry for this blog!!! With my first child I slathered him in zinc anytime he showed a sign of getting a diaper rash. It was my wise mother that told me about “browned flour”. Of course, I looked at her with total skepticism. I allowed her to make up a batch to try. Lo and behold. IT WORKED!!! I couldn’t believe it Since then, we’ve always kept a little container of this at the changing table.

It’s the easiest and cheapest thing ever! Here’s what you do:

– put some regular flour into a dry frying pan (no oil etc.)

– turn it on medium heat and stir every so often with a spatula

– the flour will turn a nice golden brown, the darker the better.

– store in a shaker container and keep near your change table.

– shake the flour onto a DRY baby bum and put on a fresh diaper. Watch the diaper rash disappear.

What this proved to me is that you don’t have to run to the drugstore everytime something is wrong AND Mother knows best!!! (She would just love to hear me say this!!!)

Until the next time,

The OMP

2 Responses to “Natural Remedy for Diaper Rash”

  1. Kim April 25, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    I’ve never heard of that.
    I babysat for a lot of granola-hippie types. One Mom used Fuller’s Earth instead of baby powder. I’m not sure exactly what that is. It smelled like clay powder. It was thicker and more chalky than baby powder.

    • ottawamommyproject April 25, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

      Yep! It works wonders. I’m still using it on Molly from time to time when she has a rash from teething!
      Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

