40 by 40

3 Jan

Happy New Year Readers!

My first post for the year will be about a personal project of mine: 40 by 40 – Losing 40 pounds by my 40th birthday.

I have not lost any of the weight I gained from carrying my two beautiful babes in 2008 and again in 2010. The time has come where I really want to buckle down and get healthy again and not live in fear of someone asking me if I’m pregnant again. EEP!

On December 14, 2012 I will turn 40. By the time this occasion rolls around I want to look GOOD!

- 40 by 40 means losing just under 4 pounds per month. I think that’s pretty reasonable.

- 40 by 40 does NOT mean a diet. I plan to eat sensible, healthy, whole foods and reduce my portion sizes.

- my gym quality elliptical trainer is being dusted off and will be used 4 nights per week.

- my FITBIT is on the way!! I ordered this little gadget as a motivator! More to come on this once I have it figured out and configured to my liking.

- I will report the number of pounds lost on the last day of each months on Twitter with the #my40by40 hashtag. First update will be January 31st.

Encouragement is welcome!! Please watch or better yet,  join in on my Twitter hashtag: #my40by40

Until next time,

The OMP

4 Responses to “40 by 40”

  1. Crystal Murphy January 3, 2012 at 1:46 am #

    Where do I sign up to loose that 40 lbs? I’m so in need of weight loss and am ready willing and able to DO IT!! Like you I had my 2 children 2008 & 2010 so I know what you mean. I feel like one big jelly bean. & am always on the GO go go!! I’m starting to take time to really notice what I put in my mouth and eat!! I will be follwing your progress and I think 4 lbs a month is a great GOAL!!! YOU GO GIRL!!!! YOU CAN DO IT!!! #my40by40 <3

    • ottawamommyproject January 3, 2012 at 1:55 am #

      Thanks for getting in touch so fast Crystal! If you want to join in all you have to do is use my #my40by40 hashtag to track at the end of each month although, you don’t look remotely close to 40!! :-) Seriously, if you want to join me, please do! I love your comparison to a jelly bean – hilarious! :-) I may be more of an M&M right now!

  2. Crystal Murphy January 3, 2012 at 2:06 am #

    I will for sure follow you even though I’m a few years from 40 it’s just something I have to start doing for myself ;) I want to be healthy for myself 1st and my family of course!! I am on board and just downloaded the app for my phone fitbit to keep track of my “food journals” :D here we go no stopping now!! Thank-you feels great to have someone I can look up to and keep trucking with in them :) I will for sure tweet #my40by40 5 years away from 40 it will be here before I know it

  3. Kathryn January 6, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

    I will be turning 40 in September and have the same goal – 40 by 40! I will definitely follow your progress. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

