Always read your labels!

30 Oct

I bet you’ve passed by one of those kiosks in the mall and had people trying to coax you to try their and creams and other similar products. I always avoid those, but on a recent trip they gave my Mom a sample. I was going to throw it in the garbage but then got curious. What’s inside these products?? Lucky for me the ingredients were listed right on the back. Anything that was “suspect” to me is colored green. Click to read what the Cosmetics Database has to say about them.

Water

Stearic Acid

Cetyl Alcohol

Paraffinium Liquidum aka Mineral Oil

Isopropyl Myristate

Triethanolamine

Fragrance (Parfum)

Jojoba Oil

Avocado Oil

Sweet Almond Oil

Kiwi Fruit Extract

Carbomer

Methylparaben

Propylparaben

Retinyl Palmitate

Tocopherol

Chamomile Extract

Aloe Vera Gel

Sea Salt

May contain: FD&C Red #4, FD&C Blue #1, D&C Yellow #10

I’m bothered by the fact that it contains more “Parfum” than actual essential oils.

So now you know! What do you think?

Thanks for reading. Until the next time!
The OMPĀ 

One Response to “Always read your labels!”

  1. Kim October 31, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    I’m surprised they consider Vitamin A (Retinyl) as unsafe. It’s fine if you use sunscreen when wearing it during the day according to my dermatologist. My skin is too sensitive to use any AHA daily, especially not in sunlight. I have some in night cream.

    I was disappointed to find out my Karma scent by Lush isn’t all essential oils, it also contains “parfum”. Now I look for phthalate-free scent.
    KR

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

