Flaxseed Oil. Who knew?

19 Apr

Apparently not me, until last night!

When I started this project I knew that some of the biggest challenges for me would come when switching hair products. I have very long and naturally curly hair (bottecelli curls, I think). It needs to be washed everyday due to tangles, and absolutely needs a curl cream or gel to combat the frizzies. I have been using such products for as long as I can remember. Up to about 10 years ago I used a lot of L’Oreal products. Since then I have exlusively used TIGI Curls Rock and Moroccan Oil. A quick look on the Environmental Working Group’s site reveals the following:

  • TIGI Curls Rock: A rating of 5 (moderate hazard): http://bit.ly/fivAAp (approx $25)
  • Moroccan Oil is not listed in the database but it contains parabens, and “parfum” (approx $35)

So, a few months ago I typed something like “Homemade curl cream” into Google and found my dream come true. A gel made from flax seeds. I found the recipe in several spots and all users raved about the results. Basically, boiling flax seeds in water produces a thick gel after several minutes. All you do is strain afterwards and voila! Here are the two main sites I used to make mine:

I followed this superhard recipe and within about 10 minutes I had a jar full of gel which I let cool. I then added some tea tree oil for scent, as I don’t have any lavender at the moment.

The true test came today apres shower. I applied the gel in exactly the same way I always apply my styling products and then waited for my hair to dry. IT WORKED!!!! My hair looks great, no different than any other day. No frizz, no offensive odour. No funny colors! Nothing. It gave the exact same result as my $35 chemical laden cream.

Based on the cost of my bag of flax seeds I estimate that I made this batch of FSG (Flax Seed Gel)  for about 40 cents and it should last me about a month.

Eco-friendly hair care: 1

Chemials: 0

I always love hearing from you with your comments, suggestions and collaborations.

Until next time,

The OMP

9 Responses to “Flaxseed Oil. Who knew?”

  1. Tracy Gaudet April 25, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    That is so great, I’m sharing this with my curly-haired friends!

    • ottawamommyproject April 25, 2011 at 11:41 am #

      I know! I couldn’t believe the recipe worked so well. I’ve used it everyday since and its still working great. I’m so impressed. I’ll be making homemade hairspray soon so check back!! Thanks for reading!
      OMP :-)

  2. Kim April 25, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    OMG. Forty cents ?? Sounds PERFECT. :) And you can scent it with anything you want. Mmmm, vanilla !

    • ottawamommyproject April 25, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

      I’ll bring you some from my next batch – scented with lavender!!! My fave :-)

      Thanks for reading!!!

  3. Josée April 28, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    It’s my first time visiting your blog – it’s great! I’ll add you to my reader. And I’ll be trying this hair gel recipe – I don’t have curls but I have thick hair with just enough wave in it to make it look messy all the time. Thanks for the tip!

    • ottawamommyproject April 29, 2011 at 12:18 am #

      Thanks for your comment! I’m glad you’ll give it a try.
      My next project will be homemade hairspray :-)

      Have a nice evening!
      The OMP

  4. Misty July 31, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    can’t wait to try this!! I’ve got crazy curls and have always wished for a more natural hair care product that works!

    • ottawamommyproject August 1, 2011 at 1:00 am #

      Hi Misty:
      Thanks for your comment! It’s super easy to make and I have to be honest – it works (for me) better than any styling product I’ve ever used. Good luck and let me know how it works for you! If you have any questions please just let me know.

      Thanks!
      The OMP

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Step by step – how to make your own Flax Seed Gel. « ottawamommyproject - March 23, 2012

    [...] night it was time to make another batch of my favourite hair care product – my famous flax seed gel. It’s super easy to make, cheap and all [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

